Page 8: Veggies!

Lets face it, veggies can be delicious, or disgusting. It all depends on how you prepare them, and what your taste buds are like. My favorite way to eat veggies is like this: I slice zucchini, carrots, and broccoli and put them in the dutch oven. Then I add a little olive oil and Mrs. Dash (it’s low-sodium, which is a good thing).  We bake it for 45-60 minutes at 450 degrees.  While it’s cooking, we make some rice…and serve the veggies with that.  It’s a healthy and low-fat meal that’s quick and easy to make. Then the next time I make that meal, I add in a different veggie. That way I can see the different kinds that I like, and I will be getting a healthier meal.  I just used purple peppers the other day, and the flavor was very different.

It says that you are supposed to have 5 servings of fruit and vegetables every day. (Actually, it is really more than that, but 5 is a good goal to start with).  I know that is going to be really hard to do at first, but there are several solutions to solving that. Some of these may not work for you, but some of them might. My first suggestion would be trying my veggies recipe up there. You can also have it with chicken breast if you like meat. I would also suggest trying several different veggies to see if there are any you like. Once you find your favorites, ALWAYS have some at home. One of my favorite ways to make sure that I get 5 servings of veggies a day is to have some at every meal. What I mean is that maybe you have strawberries with breakfast, an apple at lunch, and broccoli and carrots for dinner, or mix it up. That way you are getting some good healthy veggies in EVERY meal. Try these tips, and find the one that works the best for you!

If you don’t already know, veggies are  a really important part of your diet, as some people say, “You are what you eat.” that’s why my parents call me a “veg head”. I LOVE veggies! I will eat them almost any way. I have that veggie meal up there at LEAST 3 times a week, sometimes even 4. But I really love veggies when my Mom or Dad cooks them, because then I don’t know what is going to be the new veggie!

“You can only improve!!”

Leave a Reply

